Being a vegan is definitely more of a lifestyle choice and a philosophy than a diet. A vegan does not eat anything that is of animal origin. Vegans will not use animal based products for clothing, or any other purpose.
Are you thinking of going vegan? Exploring Meatless Mondays? Just looking for tasty ways to work more plant-based yum into your diet? Im going to break vegan protocol, and publicly reveal the indulgent plant-based ingredients your mama never told you about. Theres a whole world of deliciousness out there that most omnivores have never even tasted!
1. Nutritional Yeast
Stop! Before you go any further, go online (or to the bulk bins at your local natural foods store) and buy a big bag of nutritional yeast flakes. Ill wait!
Ok, got it ordered? Good! Nutritional yeast, also known as nooch, is the number-one food I wish someone had told me about when I first started learning to cook. Its flavor may remind you of aged cheddar or parmesan cheese, but its a much more versatile ingredient than those things. Especially if youre going vegan or dairy-free but even if youre not nooch is the best thing since sliced (vegan) bread!
The ways by which …
Some people may disagree with the meaning of vegetarianism. The general interpretation is that a vegan will not consume any foods of animal origin, not even honey, while a vegetarian might consume eggs (ovo-vegetarian), or dairy (lacto-vegetarian). Another general interpretation is that Veganism is a subdivision of Vegetarianism. However, some vegans say that the only true vegetarian is a vegan.
Make sure to read the rest of the article at Care2.